The Big Bang THEORY Has Major Issues!

Peter McClard
5 min readOct 14, 2022
Image by Art Fountain

I love cosmology. I love science. I love cosmology because it’s such a grand ambition to explain how everything came to be as we see it today and it’s been fun for me to ponder these things since I was a kid. I love science because it lets us test and measure our ideas and our mathematical concepts and seems to lead to real answers we can all agree on and make practical use of in our lives such as engineering a rocket or developing a medical cure. However, a part of me remains philosophical and humble and I can easily admit the limits of my knowledge. So should we all.

Theory: noun

  1. a coherent group of tested general propositions, commonly regarded as correct, that can be used as principles of explanation and prediction for a class of phenomena: Einstein’s theory of relativity.
  2. a proposed explanation whose status is still conjectural and subject to experimentation, in contrast to well-established propositions that are regarded as reporting matters of actual fact.

The Big Bang Theory is more of number #2 than #1 currently. While of course, many observations are what led up to the theory and seem to support it, we can’t simply gloss over the remaining holes in the theory as though it were settled, finished science as some seem to do. If anything, the holes are growing with the latest data coming in from…

--

--

Peter McClard

As a creative type, entrepreneur and philosopher, I write on many topics and try to offer solutions to, or useful insights into common problems.